Section 8

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program (HCV) provides rental assistance to income qualified applicants who lease a rental unit from a private landlord. The Manhattan Housing Authority's Section 8 HCV service area includes Manhattan and Ogden in Riley County, and extends into Pottawatomie County to include the communities of St. George and Wamego.

Section 8 HCV programs are generally administered by a local Public Housing Authority, or PHA. PHA's operating a Section 8 HCV program receive funding, as determined by the U.S. Housing and Urban Development Department (HUD), in the form of Housing Assistance Payment (HAP) funds to provide rental assistance, as well as funds to administer the program. HUD and the U.S. Congress establish the regulatory guidelines that govern how the PHA administers the program.

Learn more about applying for applying for Section 8.

Income Limits

Number of Persons in HouseholdIncome Limit

Additional Information

The Section 8 HCV waiting list time is approximately 24 months.

View more information about Utility Allowances for Section 8 (PDF).